Home / Asia / Nepal /


  • Share & Comment


Himalayan Region


The impressive Himalayan region is probably the best known destination in Nepal and it contains fourteen of the highest mountains in the world including the renowned Mount Everest with its base camp located in Sagarmtha National Park, the Kanchenjunga or the Dhaulagiri.


Beyond the Annapurna and Dhaulagiri massif far north from Pokhara lies mysterious Mustang also known as the former Kingdom of Lo, which is different from any other parts of Nepal. The Kingdom of Lo was closed to visitors until 1991 and the lifestyle of the people of Lo is unique and until today the strongly Tibetan influenced region remains untouched by modernity.


Chorten in Mustang - Travel Info and Travel Advice

(Chorten in Mustang the former Kingdom of Lo)


Hill Region


The capital of Nepal and World Heritage Site Kathmandu as well as Bhaktapur and Patan are located in the Hill region which covers about 68% of the total land area of Nepal. Elevation ranges from 500 to 3,000m above sea level. Wild animals such as leopards, barking deers and Himalayan black bears as well as over four hundred species of birds are found here.


Terai Region


The Terai Region with an average elevation of 100 to 300m above sea level covers 17% of the total land area of Nepal. It provides excellent farmland and 48% of Nepal's population is living there. With its sub-tropical forest areas, marshes and wildlife including the Royal Bengal Tiger or the Gharial crocodile the region is great for nature lovers. Nepal's most famous National Park the Chitawan is located in the Terai Region.


Lumbini, birthplace of Buddha attracts Buddhist pilgrimes from around the world.


This Free Nepal Travel Guide is offered to you by your Global Travel Mate. If you enjoyed reading this information or if the information is incorrect, please let us know through our Facebook page.





comments powered by Disqus